Page Navigation

Staff length of service and Employee Excellence awards 2020

Published: 10th February 2020

Sealed Network Team
The Sealed Network Team receive their Employee Excellence award. L to R: David Roberts, Peter Ballard, Team Leader Dylan Grant, supervisor Wayne 'Wormy' Bernie, Gary Saunders, Jonathan Perkins, Charlie Woods, Darrell Castles, Matthew Vains and Peter Newitt-Milnes.

LONGREACH Regional Council staff took some time last Friday to acknowledge the achievements and long service of some of their colleagues.

The length-of-service and Employee Excellence Awards were presented as part of Council’s ‘Big Day In’ event. The ‘Big Day In’ is an annual event in which Council gathers its entire workforce together in the same place, at the same time, for a full day of training and professional development.

The length-of-service certificates recognise team members who have served the organisation over five year increments. The Employee Excellence Awards are nominated by employees, for employees; and recognise exceptional achievements over the course of the previous year.

Horticulture and Town Services officer William Hay and leading plumber Ian ‘Boof’ Cameron were acknowledged for their 30 years of continuous service.

“It’s always nice to take some time to give credit where due and recognise the exceptional efforts made by some of our staff members,” Chief Executive Officer Mitchell Murphy said.

“Congratulations and many thanks to Bill and Boof who have racked up 30 years with council. They have seen a lot of changes over the years and they deserve our thanks for their loyalty and hard work.”

The employee excellence awards are nominated by council staff and judged by a panel comprising fellow staff from various departments and the executive leadership team.

The Sealed Network Team, led by Wayne Bernie, was awarded the team category for their hard work keeping our roads patched up. The individual category was awarded to Megan Schrag, recognising her efforts implementing new software in her role as the corporate applications officer.

Council takes on several trainees each year, and this year Joanne Bartley was recognised for her important work as a governance and human resources trainee.

A full list of recipients and runners-up can be found below.


Employee Excellence Awards
Winners:   Sealed Network Team
Runner Up:   Water and Sewerage
Winner:   Megan Schrag – Corporate Applications Officer
Runners Up:   Elissa Balke - Senior Educator. Grace Jones - Human Resources Officer and Acting Human Resources Manager
Winner:  Joanne Bartley – Workplace Health and Safety Administration Officer – Previously: Governance and Human Resources Trainee
Runner Up:  Kimberley Saunders – Accounts Payable Officer, Previously: Ilfracombe Branch Administration Trainee


Years of Service Award 2020
Five years of service:
Raymond Croke, Street Sweeper Operator. Darrel Castles, Plant Operator/Labourer on Sealed Network Team. Dylan Grant, Sealed Network Team Leader. Amanda Egan, Customer Service and Funeral Administrator. Jeffrey Newton, Local Laws and Rural Lands Supervisor. George Woodfield, Ilfracombe Construction Supervisor.
Ten years:
Jacob Balke, Concreting Supervisor. Dale Hoad, Roller Operator. Shae-Ellyn King, Infrastructure Administration Officer.
Fifteen years:
Diane Mill, Post Officer and Library Officer Longreach. Mitchell Anderson, Plumber. Chloe Thomasson, Quality Assurance Officer.
Thirty years:
William Hay, Horticulture and Town Services Officer. Ian “Boof” Cameron, Leading Hand Plumber. 
Back to News Articles