Page Navigation

Australia Day Award Recipients 2021 – Longreach, Ilfracombe, Isisford/Yaraka

Published: 26th January 2021

Longreach Regional Council congratulates all nominees and the following recipients of Australia Day Awards in 2021: 


Community Event of the Year – 4LG Good Friday Legacy Appeal (Doug Winterbothom)
Doug has spearheaded the Good Friday Legacy Appeal for over 30 years – an outstanding feat. All the money raised from this event goes to supporting the family of all ex-service personnel in the Longreach and wider region.

Junior Cultural Award – Malcolm Strong
Malcom is a dedicated member of the Longreach Town Band. He is a positive role model for younger members of the band and always conducts himself maturely and responsibly.

Senior Cultural Award – Amanda Strong
Amanda is another tireless volunteer who spends many hours a week working with the Longreach State School choir. She attends a minimum of two rehearsals a week and every choir performance during the year. Without her skills and tireless commitment out students would not have the holistic choral experience they do. Her dedication to the cultural development of the youth in our region is an inspiration.

Sports Administrator Award – Michael Lloyd
Michael has been a volunteer and worked tirelessly for numerous sporting clubs in the region including Thomson Tigers, Longreach Tennis, Longreach Cricket and Longreach Soccer.  He values the importance of community sport for young and old. He is very passionate about getting juniors involved with sport and has facilitated junior coaching days and family fun days.

Junior Sporting Achievement Award – Jozette Jones 
This recipient of this award has a long sporting history of representing not only her school but also her region.  She has consistently displayed sportsmanship and a positive attitude whilst doing so.  She has participated in swimming, discus, shotput, athletics and Touch throughout the region.

Citizen of the Year – Tanya Morton
Tanya has been a long-time supporter and volunteer with Longreach Meals on Wheels for over 9 Years. She has held the positions of Roster clerk, Treasurer and President. She has rewritten many of the policies to ensure that Meals on Wheels stay current with Government requirements. She seeks to make a difference and ensures that clients receive meals even when they are struggling financially. Her motto is “No-one deserves to be hungry”.


Community Event of the Year – Ilfracombe Clay Target Club Annual Shoot 
This was a highly organised event that drew competitors from as far as Hervey Bay and Mount Isa.  With more than 80 traveling competitors setting up camps that were prepared by volunteers, the club utilised local facilities and sourced goods locally in order to hold the event.

Community Volunteer Award – George Woodfield
George has made an ongoing contribution to the community through the Ilfracombe Historical Society. He has been instrumental in the delivery of an extension to the McMaster Machinery Shed and he painstakingly restored a motor to provide working displays within the museum.

Junior Achievement Award – Jack Marshall
Jack was chosen as the Kingfisher House Captain at the Longreach State School, a player’s player for the North West Cricket Team, age champion for Longreach State High School Athletics, and is an all round sports orientated young man.

Citizen of the Year – Christine Parker
This worthy winner, has contributed to the Ilfracombe Community in more ways than one, she has a can do attitude and provided a business that employs locals and offers unique items of yesteryear.


Community Event of the Year – Isisford P&C Presentation Night
This event was a highlight of the year in Isisford. With a free sausage sizzle and drinks, the event showcased student’s achievements and the audience were entertained by the various performances.

Community Volunteer Award – Christine Bignell
Christine has contributed significantly to the Isisford community. She has worked in assuring the elderly have improved services by way of assisting HACC and Longreach Regional Council.  She continues to contribute her time on a multitude of community boards and is known to be a tireless worker, ready to put her hand up to help whenever asked.

Senior Sports Person of the Year – Tom Littlewood
Tom has represented Isisford Golf Club traveling to every open in the Central West, and for the fourth successive time he has won Central West Player of the Year. He helps teach young golfers who are starting out, and volunteers to help maintain the Isisford Golf Course.

Young Citizen of the Year – Clementine Cochrane
Clementine is academically bright, achieving academic awards for all of her subjects in 2020. She provided assistance at the Isisford Sheep and Wool show helping run errands, and at the Sir Wally Rae Sports Day she helped prepare the grounds and even picked up rocks before the Isisford Cup Races. She is an incredibly generous, caring, kind and considerate young girl.

Citizen of the Year – Anne-Marie Lloyd
Anne-Marie has been a member of the Yaraka community for 25 years, and over this time has been involved in all aspects of the community. She has volunteered her time for events such as Gymkhanas, Yaraka B&S Ball, printing of the Yaraka Newsletter, and most recently dedicating her time gathering and scanning historical photos from the 1920 – 1960’s era.

Back to News Articles